The four childhood developmental ‘domains’

The way in which children grow, learn and develop is unique to each child, and it’s also really fascinating! Watching them change at every level is wonderful, as you witness them gaining new skills and learning new things. There are five stages of early years child development: Newborn (0-3 months) Infant (3 months to a…

Read More

What are gross motor skills and why are they important?

People Playing In Water

When we consider children’s development, we often talk about refining their fine motor skills. This helps children learn how to perform fiddly jobs such as drawing and colouring, and playing with smaller toys. What is not spoken about as often is gross, or large motor skills. So what are gross or large motor skills, and…

Read More